
Rev. 10-2017

(1) Free Tuition                            

(2) A room allowance               

(3) A Board allowance             

(4) Exemption from certain          

mandatory fees set forth in 

the law.

Provide Financial Data - 

classes 1A, 1B and IV 

(NCDVA 18 & tax return)

1-Aug-13

Veteran parent killed or dies in 

wartime service or dies as a 

result of service-connected 

condition incurred in wartime 

service as defined by law

$7,000 per nine-month 

academic year

Duration

Veteran parent rated by 

USDVA as 100% disabled due 

to wartime service as defined in 

the law, and currently or at time 

of death drawing compensation 

for such disability

NOTE (1): For definition of an eligible veteran and eligible child, common to all eligibility classes, as well as other details, refer to the full text of the law.                                                  

NOTE (2): Provision exempts books, computers and supplies (G.S. 143B, Article 14).                                                                                                                                                    

NOTE (3): Classes IA, IB, & IV must be rec'd in Director's Office on/before December 1 to be awarded on January 1; or June 1 to be awarded July 1st.                                                                                                                                         

No Limit -as 

many as qualify

Four 

academic 

years if used 

within 8 

years

No more than 

100 per year - 

Must be 

received in the 

Director’s Office 

on or before 

February 14.

Four 

academic 

years if used 

within 8 

years

In Private College & 

Junior Colleges

NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS SCHOLARSHIP SYNOPSIS                                                                                                     

Class I-B

Principal Eligibility 

Requirements (1)                      

(Highly Condensed)

No Limit -as 

many as qualify

Four 

academic 

years if used 

within 8 

years

(1) Free Tuition                            

(2) A room allowance               

(3) A Board allowance             

(4) Exemption from certain          

mandatory fees set forth in 

the law.

$7,000 per nine-month 

academic year

Number 

Allowed Each 

Year

$2,800 per nine-month 

academic Year

 In appreciation for the service and sacrifices of North Carolina’s war veterans, a four-year scholarship program at North Carolina approved schools 

has been established for the qualifying children of certain class or category of deceased, disabled, combat, or POW/MIA veterans.

In Public, Community & 

Technical 

Colleges/Institutes

Class or 

Category of 

Eligibility

Class I-A

NATURE OF SCHOLARSHIPS (2)

Program Change & Effective Date

All programs will be funded 

at the lessor rate - 

undergraduate rate - all 

classes

1-Jan-14

Class II

Award Scholarships only 

on 1 Jan and 1 July - not 

retroactive - all classes

1-Jan-14

Residency Requirements: (1) At time of application, applicant must be under age 25; a resident and Domiciled in North Carolina; (2) 

Veteran parent was a legal resident of North Carolina at the time of said veteran’s entrance into that period of service in the armed 

forces during which eligibility is established; OR (3) The applicant is the natural child or adopted child prior to age 15, who was born in 

North Carolina and has been a resident of North Carolina continuously since birth.                          

Veteran parent rated by 

USDVA as much as 20% but 

less than 100% disabled due to 

wartime service as defined in 

the law, or was awarded the 

Purple Heart for wounds 

received

(1) Free Tuition                                 

(2) Exemption from certain 

mandatory fees set forth in 

the law.



Rev. 10-2017

 *  Summer session(s) beginning with 

2014 will not be funded                                                                         

*  Financial data will only be used to 

determine source of funding                                                 

*  Scholarship does not cover books, 

computers, or supplies

Qualifying Criteria for Veteran Parent:

The veteran’s qualifying criteria must have occurred during a period of war. (Exception: Eligibility may exist for peacetime veterans or reservists/National Guard if disability 

or death was incurred as a result of armed conflict or while engaged in extra-hazardous service.)

1. Dies during wartime service or service connected death (1); or

2. 100% totally disabled due to war time disability (1); or

3. 20-90% service connected or received Purple Heart due to war time disability (2); or

4. In receipt of non-service connected pension, or received campaign medal, or veteran parent is deceased (2); or

5. Former POW or MIA (1)

Class IV
Veteran parent was a Prisoner 

of War or Missing In Action

In Public, Community & 

Technical 

Colleges/Institutes

Additional Comments

Class or 

Category of 

Eligibility

Principal Eligibility 

Requirements (1) (Highly 

Condensed)

Number 

Allowed Each 

Year

Duration

 In appreciation for the service and sacrifices of North Carolina’s war veterans, a four-year scholarship program at North Carolina approved schools 

has been established for the qualifying children of certain class or category of deceased, disabled, combat, or POW/MIA veterans.

No Limit -as 

many as qualify

Four 

academic 

years if used 

within 8 

years

(1) Free Tuition                            

(2) A room allowance               

(3) A Board allowance             

(4) Exemption from certain          

mandatory fees set forth in 

the law.

$7,000 per nine-month 

academic year

A. Veteran parent is or was at 

time of death drawing pension 

for total and permanent 

disability as rated by the 

USDVA, or                                             

B. Veteran parent is a 

deceased war veteran who was 

honorably discharged and who 

does not qualify under any 

other provision within this 

synopsis, or                                                                        

C. Served in a combat zone or 

waters adjacent to a combat 

zone and received a campaign 

badge or medal and who does 

not qualify under any other 

provision with this synopsis.                   

Class III

No more than 

100 per year - 

Must be 

received in the 

Director’s Office 

on or before 

February 14.

Four 

academic 

years if used 

within 8 

years

(1) Free Tuition                            

(2) A room allowance               

(3) A Board allowance             

(4) Exemption from certain          

mandatory fees set forth in 

the law.

$7,000 per nine-month 

academic year

NATURE OF SCHOLARSHIPS (2)

In Private College & 

Junior Colleges

NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS SCHOLARSHIP SYNOPSIS                                                                                       


